We’re back!

Happy New Year, everyone! We’re revitalizing our online presence in 2016, so, with that in mind, we’re using our first blog post of the year to introduce our officers for the 2015-2016 school year. We’re really looking forward to the rest of this year, and to telling you about the events and tours that will be happening over the next few months!

Co-presidents

Jamie BattagliaName: Jamie Battaglia

Year: Second

Originally From: Dayton, OH and Pittsburgh, PA (It’s complicated haha)

Hello friends! My name is Jamie Battaglia and I am currently an Archives track MLIS candidate, set to graduate in June 2016 (cross your fingers for me people). Within this past year, I have developed a love for tutoring in my spare time and learning more about Children’s literature and library services. Much of my research as an MLIS student revolves around tribal libraries, archives, and museums in terms of outreach, programming, and making exhibits and collections more inclusive and equitable. In my spare time, I spend time with the love of my life – my dog Nico – and my family here in Los Angeles. I am also obsessed with reading… no surprise there.

Fun fact: Tupac is my idol.

Elsie DoolanName: Elsie Doolan

Year: Second

Hello! I’m Elsie and am a second year here in the UCLA MLIS program on the Archives track. This year I am co-president of the UCLA student chapter of the Society of American Archivists. I am really looking forward to revitalizing our online presence for our wonderful student chapter and letting everyone know about all of the cool tours and events that we have been conducting.

Vice-president

Ashley VergaraName: Ashley Vergara

Year: First

Originally From: Sacramento, CA

I am a first year MLIS student specializing in Archives! Originally from Sacramento, I completed my undergraduate study at UC Santa Barbara and majored in Art History. After the completion of my MLIS, I hope to work as a museum archivist.

Fun facts: I’m a lefty and I think that’s rad, I’ve lived abroad on two separate occasions, and I’m a millennial without any tattoos.

Treasurer

Sabrine PonceName: Sabrina Ponce

Year: First

Originally From: South Gate, CA

I’m a first year in the MLIS program in the Archives track with an interest in Rare Books and Manuscripts. I studied medieval history as an undergrad at UCLA, but I have also studied Latin American history. I am still exploring career options, but am interested in museums and human rights organizations.

Fun facts: I like to travel and learn different languages. I’m a total Potterhead. I listen to a wide variety of music, but I’m mostly a metalhead. I’m also allergic to cinnamon-scented candles and eggplant.

Publicist

Tori MachesName: Tori Maches

Year: First

Originally From: San Diego, CA

I’m a first-year MLIS student on the Archives track! As an undergraduate, I majored in English and minored in Conservation Biology at UCLA. I’m trying to narrow down what I want to do once I complete this program; everything looks so interesting that it’s hard to choose just one path.

Fun facts: I stress-bake, I started undergrad as an electrical engineering major, and I made lightsaber/blaster earrings to wear when I saw the new Star Wars.

Secretary/Records Manager

Dvorah LewisName: Dvorah Lewis

Year: Second

Originally From: I was born in Austin, TX but grew up half my life in Las Vegas and the other half in Davis, CA.

My name is Deborah, but I go by my Hebrew name Dvorah. I discovered my passion for the archives while completing my Humanities Honors thesis where I traced my family roots to an archives in Philadelphia. I earned my BA in English at UC Irvine. Zot, zot! Much of my graduate research has revolved around preservation, curation, and outreach of web archives. If I’m not catching up on coursework, then you can find me bingeing on Netflix; playing with my two cats, Asher and Tanis; or completing the latest installment to my fantasy novel. Keep Calm and Wait for Arelai!

 

About Society of American Archivists at UCLA

Welcome to the Society of American Archivists student chapter at the University of California, Los Angeles! The Chapter is open to all students interested in any aspect of archival management and preservation ranging from traditional materials such as manuscripts, personal papers, and business records to electronic and digital media in all formats.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

